Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members

Date & Time        Place        Description
Monday, December 18, 2017
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Presentation on Dark Money in Politics. On Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at 12 noon at Leelanau County Government Center Community Room the Voter Services Committee of the League of Women Voters Leelanau County will hold a forum entitled "The Corrosive Effect of Money on Elections." The guest speaker will be Craig Mauger, Executive Director of Michigan Campaign Finance Network (MCFN).

Mauger explains "Even in Michigan, a state that's been ranked last for its transparency laws, you can learn a lot about what's behind an ad and where it came from if you're looking or listening for the right details." The MCFN is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that seeks to shine the brightest light possible on the role of money in Michigan politics. Mauger warns "In politics, money talks; it's time more people start listening."

The forum in open to the public. Many bring a sack lunch. A LWVLC business meeting will follow the forum.

For more information on the LWVLC call 231-271-5600, visit LWVLeelanau.org or follow LWVLC on Facebook at League of Women Voters Leelanau County. Poster is attached.

Monday, January 22, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Thursday, February 1, 2018-Wednesday, February 28, 2018
 
  YOUTH VOTER MONTH.
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
"Is Our Health Care System Broken?". Feb 7: "Is Our Health Care System Broken?" featuring Kevin Seitz who will provide an overview of health care history and policy, leading up to where we are today. Mr. Seitz's professional career has spanned over 35 years of involvement in public and private health insurance in Michigan, with numerous leadership positions, including Associate Director for Human Services in the Michigan House Fiscal Agency, Director of the Michigan Medicaid Program, President and CEO of Blue Care Network, and Executive Vice President in Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan. He retired from Blue Cross in 2010 and continues his involvement through health finance consulting and as a lecturer in the University of Michigan School of Public Health. The forum in open to the public. Many bring a sack lunch. A LWVLC business meeting will follow the forum.
Monday, February 26, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Thursday, March 1, 2018-Saturday, March 31, 2018
 
  WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH.
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Equal Rights Advocacy Committee Presentation.
Monday, March 26, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
 
  EQUAL PAY DAY.
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
 
  Book Discussion.
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Presentation on Voter Suppression and How to Protect the Vote.
Monday, April 23, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Age Friendly Leelanau Presentation.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
 
TBD Annual Dinner/Meeting - TENTATIVE DATE.
Monday, May 28, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center
Conference Room #2
LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Energy and Natural Resources Committee Presentation.
Monday, June 25, 2018
 
TBD Annual Board Retreat.
Thursday, June 28, 2018-Sunday, July 1, 2018
 
Chicago, IL LWV National Convention.