Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members

Date & Time        Place        Description
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Noon
Government Center
Lower Level
March Monthly Meeting. JOIN US IN REMEMBERING IMPORTANT WOMEN WHO CHANGED HISTORY THAT TIME MAY HAVE FORGOTTEN, BUT WE HAVE NOT. The film "We Will Meet Again- The Fight for Women's Rights" will be shown, followed by discussion and sharing. Feel free to bring the name of an important woman who may have changed your life history.

The public is invited. Many bring a sack lunch.

Monday, March 25, 2019
9:30am
Government Center Board Meeting.
Monday, April 1, 2019
 
  4th Quarter PMP due: LWVMI & LWVUS.
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Noon
Government Center
Lower Level
April Monthly Meeting-"The Promise of Early Childhood: What Children Need, What Parents Want and the Community's Role in Supporting Them". Wednesday, April 3 at 12 noon at the Leelanau County Government Center Lower Level Community Room the League of Women Voters Leelanau County will present: "The Promise of Early Childhood: What Children Need, What Parents Want and the Community's Role in Supporting Them" a discussion of Early Childhood Needs and Services in Leelanau County". Ty Wessell will present information on the current state of children and families in our county. Laura Touhey and Beatriz Cruz, two parents and early childhood service providers, will speak to the the joys and challenges of parenting in Leelanau County and the services that their organizations provide. This Forum will serve as a lead-in to the County Commission's newly created Early Childhood Study Committee that will assess the scope of current resources, determine whether they are meeting our families' needs and develop concrete recommendations for action.
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
 
  Equal Pay Day.
Thursday, April 11, 2019
 
  Book Discussion.
Monday, April 22, 2019
9:30am
Government Center Board Meeting.
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
 
  Materials Sent for Annual Meeting.
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Noon
Government Center
Lower Level
May Monthly Meeting.
Monday, May 20, 2019
9:30am
Government Center Board Meeting.
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
 
  Annual Member Meeting/Event. Tentative Date
June 2019
 
  State Convention.
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Noon
Government Center
Lower Level
June Monthly Meeting.
Monday, June 24, 2019
 
  Annual Board Retreat.