Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members

Date & Time        Place        Description
Thursday, November 9, 2017
 
Green Bay, Wisconsin LWV Lake Michigan Regional Conferenc.
Monday, November 27, 2017
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
12pm
Leelanau County Government Center, Community Room Protect Our Vote Forum. LWVMI President Judy Karandjeff and Advocacy Vice President Joan Hunault will lead the interactive presentation, which will include a brief history of voter suppression. Attendees are welcome to bring their own lunch.
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
12-1:30pm
Leelanau County Government Center, Community Room Annual Holiday Luncheon. A potluck. Bring a hot or cold dish to pass. Table service and drinks will be provided. The lunch is a members' event; however you are encouraged to bring a guest. If you are able to attend, please RSVP to Sharon Golm at sharongolm@gmail.com by December 1st. Please provide the name of your guest. This year we will host Marshall Collins, Jr. and Dave Taghon who will speak on "African-American History and Experience in Leelanau: A Perspective" Dave Taghon will also have several historical photos on display, courtesy of LWVLC member, Kathleen Stocking.
Monday, December 18, 2017
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Presentation on Dark Money in Politics.
Monday, January 22, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Thursday, February 1, 2018-Wednesday, February 28, 2018
 
  YOUTH VOTER MONTH.
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Healthcare and Medical Insurance Policy Review.
Monday, February 26, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Thursday, March 1, 2018-Saturday, March 31, 2018
 
  WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH.
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Equal Rights Advocacy Committee Presentation.
Monday, March 26, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Presentation on Voter Suppression and How to Protect the Vote.
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
 
  EQUAL PAY DAY.
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
 
  Book Discussion.
Monday, April 23, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Age Friendly Leelanau Presentation.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
 
TBD Annual Dinner/Meeting - TENTATIVE DATE.
Monday, May 28, 2018
9:30am
Leelanau County Government Center
Conference Room #2
LWVLC Board Meeting.
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
12:00pm
Leelanau County Government Center
Lower Level
Energy and Natural Resources Committee Presentation.
Monday, June 25, 2018
 
TBD Annual Board Retreat.
Thursday, June 28, 2018-Sunday, July 1, 2018
 
Chicago, IL LWV National Convention.